Stainless TIG brazing with nickel rod

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stainless TIG brazing with nickel rod

I need to braze a tank from light gauge stainless and thought I might braze it with nickel rod to better guard against blowing holes. What type of nickel rod is appropriate for this? Is Type 82 OK? Is a nickel-brazed joint on stainless discernible from the parent metal (304 stainless)?

Thanks in advance.

Hey SuperMatty. What cha building?
    I'm curious bud...tank...light gauge stainless? Sounds like a flux capacitor or possibly a still?

Not that it matters but sometimes knowing about the fabrication, it's construction, goes along way to a more suitable, professional answer when trying to offer an opinion.
    But to prove I'm not a professional...I was lost at your references to type 82 and brazing.

I know now your referring to an Inconel filler metal. (ERNiCr-3) Thank you Google.
    You also mention brazing? I could well be mistaken but type 82 isn't a brazing rod? (RB CuZn-D)
    The difference the later being a metallic bond, the former a bond of fusion through dilution.

However, Stainless... thin and the risk of burn through. Hmm?

At the risk of sounding dimmer then I appear, if you asked me to remove your gull bladder I'd say sure, I can cut you open with the sharp lid from a tin can, a box cutter or a scalpel. All will do the job, but the quality of the cut will differ.

I'm assuming you plan on GTAW your stainless. Again with no clue what your fabricating or it's joint design.
    While using an Inconel filler may offer an easier time welding, sluggish is more forgiving, maybe...sometimes to avoid burn through issues you should look at the process and ask what you should do to adapt it to your application?