Wanna be TIG'r

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wanna be TIG'r

Ok, I'm a new poster here been lurking for a little while. I'm blessed with the fact that my wife understands my need to have a 40x60 shop in our back yard so I've finally gotten some room to play with the things I like! I grew up on a farm and farm some on my own still and have access to the equipment there for doing big stuff. I'm a mediocre MIG welder and I like tinkering with building metal things and aluminum is what I would like to master. I purchased a miller 211 MIG in Feb. with spoolmate 150 after getting talked down from a 225 from the local welding shop. I've very pleased with the performance and utility of that machine. I purchased it with the thought that I could add a TIG machine to the mix later. Well.... Now miller is offering the $700 discount on the Diversion 180 which could very well be a nice companion for my 211 and that's got me itchy to pull the trigger.... HOWEVER...
    I do a lot of research on stuff and when I look at the competition at that price point even with the discount, The Lincoln squarewave 200 and the ESAB 186i appear to beat the diversion in performance, options, and size??? Is there something I'm missing? I don't really care much about stick welding but I don't see having it as an option a negative?? Are all the options and adjustments detrimental to someone such as myself who's NEVER even held a TIG torch? An added unique situation for me is that I have to wear leg braces that keep my ankles fixed at a 90 degree position so I would guess a hand control would be a better option.

How heavy is your anticipated aluminum work? It it's of any significant thickness, you're going to need a pretty robust machine with a good duty cycle. I don't think that is the Diversion. I can't speak to the other ones you listed but I'm sure there are folks here who can.
    Last edited by Aeronca41; 12-22-2017, 03:14 PM.

Comment