Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Argon Flow Problem

I'm new to welding.

I have a Miller welder (Dialarc HF-P, s/n HH061601) and can't seem to get the argon flowing. The welder arcs and the flow regulator assembly seems to be ok. (I removed the assembly and could blow through it and it worked fine - the ball bounced nicely.) The argon tank is newly filled.

The connections seem solid (been there for a long time...).

I can't seem to get the argon flowing when connected - the ball doesn't move.

Any suggestions? It's too large to transport.

Did you turn the knob?
    Will it flow thru the hose alone unhooked from the machine?

www.facebook.com/outbackaluminumwelding
    Miller Dynasty 700...OH YEA BABY!!
    MM 350P...PULSE SPRAYIN' MONSTER
    Miller Dynasty 280 with AC independent expansion card
    Miller Dynasty 200 DX "Blue Lightning"

Miller Bobcat 225 NT (what I began my present Biz with!)
    Miller 30-A Spoolgun
    Miller WC-115-A
    Miller Spectrum 300
    Miller 225 Thunderbolt (my first machine bought new 1980)
    Miller Digital Elite Titanium 9400

Comment

By 'turn the knob' do you mean open the valves? Yes. They flow freely. I've unhooked the hose from the welder and it's clear...

Comment

Not familiar with that machine, do you have the manual, and double check that it's setup correctly for TIG welding?

So this is the first time you've tried to TIG with this unit? IOW have you seen it TIG weld successfully before?
        Richard

Comment

Originally posted by BridgetG View Post
          By 'turn the knob' do you mean open the valves? Yes. They flow freely. I've unhooked the hose from the welder and it's clear...
          So not meaning to insult, but, when you unhook the hose and open the valve and turn the knob, does the little ball come up? Does the hose blow argon?
          If so then the problem is with the machine (gas valve) or the pedal and/or it's wiring.

Miller 30-A Spoolgun
          Miller WC-115-A