How you learned to weld.....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How you learned to weld.....

Just curious how many people here taught themselves how to weld from a book, YouTube, or just trial and error.

Originally posted by Norm713 View Post
    Just curious how many people here taught themselves how to weld from a book, YouTube, or just trial and error.
    my dad taught me when I was young. I'm 35 now and I'm still learning all the time and most of the time the hard way. I work with some very good pipeline welders that I pick up tips every so often. When I bought my first plasma cutter I watched every YouTube video I could find

Comment

I bought a oxy-gas setup 25 years ago and taught myself to gas weld, then got a 110V mig. I then went to work as a mechanic in a manufacturing facility where welding was part of the job.. Most big jobs, they would bring in a welding contractor, who took me under his wing. I was their helper of choice when they did big jobs at the plant, so I picked up a lot from him. I picked up a stick machine, then a mig machine, then a plasma cutter, and then a tig machine for home use. All Millers and a Hypertherm. Like Blowout said, you never stop learning and picking up things along the way. That's why I like this forum. A lot of guys here have the same level of skill as I do, but a bunch more blow me out of the water with what they know. And I WISH there was youtube way back when.

Comment

On the job training, a few vocational schools, Hobart for MIG, no such thing as YouTube or internet when I entered the work force
        Richard
        West coast of Florida

Comment

Mainly trial and error, never really had someone show me other than "that looks like crap" or "It's getting better" Lots of studying about metals, procedures, inert gasses, filler rods, welding procedures etc.

Still learn every time though, every time it doesen't work right, you gotta figure out why and bam, you learned something new.