Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Generator for Shop?

Gents (and Ladies),

I am an Air Force Officer and we move every 3 years like clock work. I have exactly 3 tools that are 220 for my home hobby shop and they are my MM252 Mig, Hypertherm Powermax 45 Plasma cutter, and a Quincy 5hp 60 Gal Air Compressor. We are moving into our new home in a couple of weeks at my next duty station and the electrician is quoting $2500 or more to run the electrical into the garage. We have plenty of 110 outlets so I only need power for the 3 mentioned tools

I don't think his price in unfair but we will move again in 3 years and I'm wondering if i shouldn't invest in a generator instead of the electrical. I have 12 years left before i plan to retire and inevitably we are going to have to rent at some point. I don't want to keep having to have electrical ran every 3 years. Do any of you have recommendations on a generator that would suffice?

I talked to the tech guys at Cyberweld and they said my MM252 would need a generator of at least 14K watts for full capacity. I doubt I'll ever run it at full capacity but i don't want to buy something too small either. I know it would be inconvenient having to start a gen set every time i want to start welding but I'm willing to instead of upgrading electrical every 3 years. At least then i have a gen set that can be used in case of power outage, or building projects around our acreage.

Recommendations??

How much of this equipment do you plan to run simultaneously?

Comment

Please tell me you're being stationed to Nellis AFB. If so, I'll be your electrician. I find $2500 to be quite steep unless there are some serious obstacles to overcome.

Any chance there is already a dryer receptacle in the garage? That's probably 30A right there if we can get to it. That's enough for one machine at a time, though not full power to welder or plasma cutter.