TIG welding copper plate

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TIG welding copper plate

I'm a shade tree welder, but I consider myself to be a pretty fare welder on carbon steel, stainless steel, and aluminum with my old DialArc HF welder. I've got it rigged with finger tip controls that work quite nicely. The machine itself is rated to push up to 300 amps DC. Last night, I tried welding some copper plate for a customer. I was getting my arse handed to me. I read about welding copper before I started, so I used pure helium shielding gas, 2% thoriated tungsten 1/8" electrode, 1/8" deoxygenated copper filler rod from the welding store, and used all the amperage I could squeeze out of my machine. Torch is water cooled, and even at that it was getting pretty warm.

With all of that, I was having a terrible time getting a decent weld pool to form. I cleaned the oxide off before I started working, and preheated as best as I could with a small Mapp Gas torch (don't have O/A at home).

The finished product came out pretty solid, but my welds were embarrassing. I can get some pretty good looking welds on steel or aluminum, but that copper looked terrible. Just seemed like I could not get enough heat, no matter what I did.

Anybody got any ideas on what I was doing wrong? The work piece was fairly large. I was adding a piece of 2" x 1/4" copper flat bar to a section of doubled up 1/2" thick plates (1" total) that was about 3 feet long, and 6" wide. My only guess was insufficient preheat, but you guys are the pro welders. I'm just a desk jockey by day, hobby welder (and fisherman) by night.

More welder needed. I am working with a customer on trying a Dynasty 700 out next week on copper bars. He had an old 500 amp at his last job...Bob
    Bob Wright

Comment

Mo pow-wah required. <br />
      <br />