General welding certification question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• General welding certification question

Hey everyone, I have a question about what it means to be a "certified welder". I'm opening a small welding business and I would like to start working towards a certification. I asked a welding instructor what a welding certification was and he told me that you can only get certified in certain processes, at a certain position, on a certain thickness, ect. I've looked on the internet on the AWS website and I see that you can be a certified welding inspector, and a few other things, but no "certified welder". Please let me know what I'm missing. Thanks!

There is not an all around certification. You have to test to a welding code, on a given weld process, material type, thickness, and position. The welding codes tell you what's acceptable. Some tests cover multiple positions, or materials. For example, I am a traveling pipe welder, every company I work for I have to take welding tests to be certified to there welding program. Those companies, have a welding program, and have to do a test for themselves (procedure qualification record) to have there own certification on there own process. That's where they get there weld parameters (welding procedure specification) to show the welders what variances of- amperage, travel speed, filler material, gas etc. And sometimes i've had to take the same test twice to test to different welding codes. And lots of times when the companies go to sites, the site may have there own welding program and you have to test to there program too. It's my understanding that the tests don't follow you from job to job. There is a lot more to it but I hope that can help explain it better. Now I think you can take a weld test to certify to AWS if you are looking for something like that.

Comment

Originally posted by Rob1488 View Post
      It's my understanding that the tests don't follow you from job to job.