Need Trailer Welding Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Trailer Welding Advice

I'm going to build a 5,500 lb trailer from online plans. In store bot'n parts, it will be at least $600. The axels alone will be over $400.
    http://www.trailersauce.com/trailer-...iler/introduc/

I've never done a trailer, before. Advice as to the welds would be appreciated. According to the plans, the parts are mostly 1/8 angle of various dimensions. There are a few pieces of 3/16.

I'd be using this trailer to haul heavy iron objects, e.g. mills, lathes, compressors, engines. Having it come apart on I-95 would not be cool.

Advice on the welds? I have MIG, stick, TIG, torch welding ability.

I don't need to find myself. I'm always at my lathe.

I built trailers in my dads shop, almost 500 of them. I would use metal thicker than 1/8" esp for heavy objects you wrote of. Either MIG or stick we started with 7014 then went all MIG...Bob
    Bob Wright

Comment

Just rent a proper trailer when you need to haul machinery, trailers take up a lot of room, need to be licensed and insured, always in the way and end up being loaded with so much trash you don't want to go through the work of emptying it out to use it.

Comment

1/8 seems pretty thin. After the countless trailers I have repaired that were "factory" built, I highly doubt you could do worse with your eyes closed. That being said you would want to MIG weld them for efficency. That being said, have someone experiences build it with you and you will learn more than you didn't know you needed to...practice.
        Ryan
        MILLERMATIC 350P w/Bernard BTB300 w/XR-A Python 25'
        MULTIMATIC 200 w/Spoolmate 100 w/TIG w/Wireless pedal
        SPECTRUM 375 X-Treme
        (2) DIGITAL ELITE helmets
        Weld-Mask goggles/hood
        OPTREL e684 helmet
        SMITH torches
        HARRIS torches

Comment