Miller 180sd weak arc

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Miller 180sd weak arc

I have been trying to diagnose a Miller 180sd syncrowave welder I recently acquired. I tried searching all over the Internet and on this site.
    The problem is a weak arc, and it's real irratic It won't get hot enough to melt the metal. It was taken to norco and they said they "think" it's the pc board.
    I'm a welder and auto mechanic by trade but far from a welder repairman. I can have the board repaired in Florida by gem electronics for 290$ but I want to make sure it's the board. I have tried different leads pedals three phase, 220 all the same. I have had the board out and examined it closely and everything looks good. Ive cleaned and adjusted the spark gaps also. Any help would be great.
    Last edited by 69shoveled; 04-27-2016, 11:55 AM.

Could be the hall device that senses the weld output current. There have been many earlier 180 SD units that have exhibited similar characteristics caused by a faulty hall device.

I suggest contacting Miller Customer Service (920-734-9821) with the unit SN and description of how it's operating so they can walk you thru a diagnosis.
    MM200 w/spot controller and Spoolmatic 1
    Syncrowave 180 SD
    Bobcat 225G Plus LPG/NG w/14-pin*
    *Homemade Suitcase Wire Feeder
    *HF-251D-1
    *WC-1S & Spoolmatic 1
    PakMaster 100XL
    Marquette "Star Jet" 21-110
    http://www.millerwelds.com/images/sm...rolleyes.png?2

Comment

Yep Hall / LEM is bad, merely get the part # off it and get another from Digikey...

Comment

I contacted Miller and they said unplug the hall sensor and see if it welds wide open. If it does I was unclear if it means it's not the switch or if it is? Thank you guys for the help. who is Digikey?
        Last edited by 69shoveled; 04-28-2016, 11:26 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by 69shoveled View Post