Mower deck repair

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mower deck repair

A mower deck failed, as shown in the picture. I am a rather noob to arc welding, and would appreciate suggestions as to how to proceed with this repair. We are looking at the attach point for lifting the deck.

Specifically, how much metal do I remove?

What is the preferred process (MIG, TIG and stick)?

I am inclined to remove a "v" and compress the lift point so that it is back closer to where it was before this failure. That would likely be something like a 2mm downward movement.

Any other ideas or suggestions you might have. My take is that the complexity of this is moderate for my skills. I could be wrong.

I believe the failure was aggravated by someone running the deck with the lift arms substantially off from being level.

if it's just the weld that gave out I would clean it up and use a mig to weld it back.if it's rusted through and through I would put a piece of aluminum as a backing plate and weld it with the mig. I do a few decks a year for people and they are amazed that I was able to repair them. the mig is the best way to go about this get some .023 wire and you'll be good from the decks I have repaird you'rs looks like it's in pretty good shape. if you need to add a piece of plate to lap over it lowes or tractor supply sells the plate in small pieces that way you don't have to go buy a whole sheet just for a little piece.

Comment

The local steel outfit sells steel with a minimum purchase of $25, at a low rate. So I can pick some up there. I need to get some to practice with.

Thusfar I have only used 0.030, but I have 0.23 wire. I can do some practice welds with it first, if using 0.23 is recommended over 0.030.

A question I have is whether the 0.023 wire will provide adequate penetration, as the deck is rather thick (three point hitch finish mower for tractors up to 60 hp).

Thanks, tommy2069.

Comment