Poor Shop Safety on TV

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Poor Shop Safety on TV

Last night after work I was watching "Orange County Choppers" on my TIVO, and decided to slow down some of the welding closeups to frame by frame rate to observe the processes in detail. I noticed that Paul Jr. and Vinnie were MIG welding and tacking in short T sleeve shirts without any face and eye protection and without gloves. Paulie was also holding the MIG torch by the metal ring behind the tip with his bare hands. Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't this a good way to get burned and shocked at the same time? I'm not that experienced at welding, but at least I know that one should wear a quality helmet, leather gloves, and a long sleeve collared shirt or jacket made of nonflammable material. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy the show and seeing what they'll come up with next, but this sets as bad an example for our young people interested in metalwork as the show "Jackass" sets for our youth in general. I have always believed in proper shop safety especially after I got my A$$ paddled in 7th grade metal shop for drilling something without safety glasses and with my one of my buddies standing too close to the machine. The shop teacher was a big SOB, too. I frequently see him at the hardware store and we always chat. I certainly don't harbor any hard feelings about the paddling 22 years later. People can think that they are so skilled at something that an accident won't befall them, but this is not true at all. I have always had an interest in electronics and learned to solder at about the age of 10. I'm in my early 30's now and a few years ago I was replacing some components in an audio mixer when capacitor that I was soldering to a PC board exploded. I later found the problem to be that the capacitor was not sealed properly by the manufacturer and the heat from the soldering, which should not have bothered it, caused it to explode. I ended up with some foil and solder fr