X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3/8 aluminum plate

I have a new 200DX and learning to weld aluminum
    most thickness being 1/8'' but there is one weld i would
    like to make its 3/8'' X 3 aluminum plate to 3/8 X 3 aluminum plate 3'' wide T joint. Can this welder handle this job, Im pluged in to 120 /30amp now but have plenty of juice avalible including 3 phase if needed.

Thanks for any help

I'm new to welding and I've never come near 3/8 aluminum but Hawk will see this and let you know if it is possible and the best technique.

Your ability to reach the highest amperage on the 200DX is with 3 phase.
    Here's the chart from the Miller info page.
    Attached Files
    Bob Sigmon
    A/O Setup with Meco Midget
    Miller Big Window Elite
    Quincy QT-5HD

Comment

Originally posted by piersonrd
      I have a new 200DX and learning to weld aluminum
      most thickness being 1/8'' but there is one weld i would
      like to make its 3/8'' X 3 aluminum plate to 3/8 X 3 aluminum plate 3'' wide T joint. Can this welder handle this job, Im pluged in to 120 /30amp now but have plenty of juice avalible including 3 phase if needed.

Thanks for any help
      Welcome to the forum. You will get lots of good info here.

You will most certainly max out the 200DX's capacity and then some trying to weld 3/8" AL, esp. with pure argon. Even if you use an argon helium mix I think you would be hard pressed to pull it off. The general consensus is 1/4" AL for the 200DX. Even then you may need an argon helium mix to achieve your desired results. HAWK will certainly be able to give you even more detailed information regarding this topic and you can also do a search.

Again, welcome aboard!
      Dynasty 350DX
      Dynasty 200DX TigRunner
      MM 350P
      MM Passport Plus
      Spectrum 375 Extreme
      08' Trailblazer 302

Comment