Tig technique help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tig technique help!

Well I've decided to come out of the shadows and actually participate in the forum. I've been lurking around here for a while now and getting great advice. My name is chris and I do car peformance work on the side as well as being a building operating engineer by trade. Everyone has been very helpful on this site and I haven't even registered
    For most of my welding work I've been using a MM210 but I've decided that it was time to expand and clean up a little bit and try my hand at GTAW. I bought a TA185 about 6 months ago(I know it isn't blue but I couldn't beat the price and if it doesn't pan out, its less money I have to recoup) and played around with it for a little bit but for some reason or another I just couldn't get the technique right I guess?
    On flat stock, I can get puddle and throw it where ever I want it to go. It just seems that whenever I go to add filler, the puddle disappears and I have to start all over again.

From what I have read on here you 1) create a puddle, 2) add filler to the front of the puddle, 3) move puddle foreward and repeat step 2

Am I reading this wrong? Just out of the experience I've been having it seems like I am. To me it seems maybe it should be like this:
    1) create puddle, 2) add filler to front of puddle, 3) create another puddle at the front of previous puddle, 4) add filler to new puddle, 5) repeat steps 1-4 until bead is complete.

can someone please clarify?

Thanks for reading through my blabbing and helping out a tig newb
    MillerMatic 210, ThermalArc 185, O/A Victor outfit

Chris,
    Welcome. I am new here too. Please list your settings and thickness of material when doing this. Sounds like you might need a little more heat cause as you dip the rod you are cooling off the puddle too much. Also list what size tungsten (type as well) and filler rod you are using.
    T.J.
    www.tjsperformance.com