Bessy sliding clamps

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bessy sliding clamps

I asked the family to pitch in and buy me a pair of Bessy 12" sliding clamps a James Morton welder clamp and pipe clamp for Christmas.

My Enco 4" and 12" inch forged clamps,Channel Lock welding clamps, and Pony pipe clamps are pretty straight forward clamping systems and I know there limitations, sliding clamps on the other hand I have never used before so I'm asking are there any unwritten tips & no nos I should know about before i get under something they are holding together? Thanks guys

i got one of the bessy corner clamps from home depot (for wood ) and i tried to use it for welding and needless to say i blew a hole through it and scared the crap out of myself...........but i wrote to bessy and they cut me a check for the clamp...........

BESSY IS A GREAT COMPANY WITH STAND UP PEOPLE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

DAWG

Comment

The Bessy sliding clamps are great and are a timesaver. I broke one 20+ years ago and replacement parts are available. I had it clamped to a forklift fork doing something stupid. So don't do this at home...Bob
      Bob Wright

Comment

bessy clamps and clamping systems are the best Ive ever used! Keep them oiled with wd or equiv. Use anti spatter spray if migging near the threads. The ones I have have copper threads but they do get buggered up occasionally and require a filling(file).
        Trailblazer 302g
        coolmate4
        hf-251d-1
        super s-32p
        you can never know enough

Comment

Thanks guys. dyn88 mine are cheapies, I paid 57$ a piece for them, they probably won't come with copper plated threads but their added reach will come in handy.. Hoping I get them tomorrow or Friday.

Comment

pic's anyone?

Comment

teeps, heres a picture from their website.

http://www.jamesmorton.com/images/pvsc1.jpg

Comment

I bought one of those last week at Linde, I didn't think it cost me 57!!! though!!! Yikes.