Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Millermatic 175 Question

Hello,

I am relatively new to welding. I was wondering what the correct amp setting should be on a mig machine if you were going to weld 1 5/8 OD x .134 mild steel tubing and then what the setting should be for 1 3/4 OD x .134 We are looking to building a roll cage for the local dirt track and that are their requirements. Will a 180 machine do this welding properly with one pass? Or am I pushing the limits. I am looking to purchase a new mig welder and I can't decide between the Hobart 180 or the Miller 175. I want to safely make this roll cage? I was also wanting to purchase a Berrier Dunn Buggy frame that is tack welded and then finish it with this machine. Will they do the job safely?
    I plan on taking some class first before I try to tackle roll cages. I know I need to gain some more experience first. I guess my real question is will either of those welders handle what I want to do safely. Am I pushing the limits of either machine?
    Thanks,

Tau

query

FYI - most folks that hang-out on this forum, also visit the Hobart site... where your same questions were asked, and responded to. Both are great forums visited by much the same personnel.
    Russ
    MM175, 300/200 Thunderbolt,
    M125c baby plasma,
    BWE (red flames),
    Victor Super-Range O2/Fuel,
    and lots-of-junk slowly being replaced.

Comment

Tau44:
      Rule is .001 of thickness =1 amp so .134 material =134 amps. This is not an exact science just a general rule, there are so many variables that play a part you have to find the sweet spot for your hand and speed of operation.

My only beef against the mm175 is its lower duty cycle. My mm210 has twice the duty cycle at that amperage.

Peace,

Comment

Tau,