torch cutting question from Iraq

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• torch cutting question from Iraq

Hey all, just gotta question for you all. I am not new to welding I have 3 years of experience, but I have been outta practice for about 4 years now. anywho
    I am stuck in Iraq, and my unit wants me to armor our vehicles, no biggie, 19 vehicles one guy, to do it all cake walk........

so here is the problem. I got a local to buy me, a welder, not a miller though I wasnt pleased by that. and a torch setup, the tips that came with it are the 2 piece tips for mapp gas or lpg. I seem to remember it being bad to mix up the tips, but I cant remember if its the 1 piece acetylene tip with mapp gas or the other way around. maybe I am outta my mind on that one, but I figured I would check before I blew myself up. any help would be greatly appriciated. thanks

Don't your 44Bs (I think thats the right one for ARMY metal worker) have any welding machines you could use?

Assuming you're in the army
    -Tanner

Comment

Use a one piece tip for acetylene and a a two piece tip for mapp. Thanks for your service and be safe.

Comment

44b's

Tanner not all unit's are authorized 44b's. Thus not the equipment in the unit. The mechanic that is assigned the wrecker should have a torch setup, but that does mean he knows how to use it. No offence meant if your maintenance Isesoteric. There is a kit our HMMWV's (most) have installed. We are fairly lucky we have a good metalworker that wants to make sparks all day everyday, and one that can weld but is on the less dedicated side. We also have a warrant officer that is trying to get the equipment we could use to improve weld shop.

PS Ill be there in JAN 05
        Joe
        [email protected]

Comment

Thank you for your service to our country isesoteric. I for one, greatly appreciate it....