Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Undercut pictures

Hi there.

Would it be possible for one of you more expereinced weldors to make a couple of passes showing undercut, overaperage and just right for tig, take a picture and post it?

I am not sure that I fully understand what undercut is or what it looks like and all of the pictures in the books I have are black and white and I cannot really see what is going on.

The good news is that I start my TIG course in the next three weeks and hopefully will learn tons! Really looking forward to it.

Thanks,

Steve

I am not sure if i could run a bead with undercut,,,, hahahahahahaha

Comment

Pictures

Steved,

Here is a picture from one of the first welding text books I studied. The book is by Raymond Sacks: Welding: principles and practices. I don't think it is in print today. However, it has some great information even though technology has far surpassed this text of the 1970's. Please see attached. This picture is courtesy of Kaiser Aluminum and Chemical Corp. I hope this helps. If it is not what you are looking for, let me know and I'll open up shop and make a few passes for you. BTW: Thanks for all you help on the phase converter.
      Attached Files

Comment

Steved,

What you are chasing is the middle bead. All three of these beads appear to made with a sinewave output. Since the squarewave and inverter machines offer myriad additional features over these dinosaur TIG machines your beads may look considerably better.

Sberry is probably right: It is hard to run an exaggerated undercut TIG bead because as you increase the amperage and continue adding filler your coupon metal will most likely sag and melt. It can definitely be done. However, I think a beginning TIG welder will have more difficulty running the undercut bead than a mostly correct bead. Try it and see. You tell us which is easier for you.

Comment