Stick Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stick Question

I am still learning to stick weld(but are we not all still learning?), so i have two plates 1/2 thick going to be a fillet or T weld how ever you want to say. I have 7018 1/8 and 5/32 i got today. Which one would you say would be better and how many amp should it be welded at. How many passes, what should be the bed profile.

It will be welded with a dynasty 300DX. aslo want to know about the dig function on the dynasty never used it alway left it at the preset.

Here is a pic of some scrap I did with 7018 140A on 1/2 plate what you think

pic one is the first pass and the second is with the 3rd pass on it

Gary
    Attached Files
    Dry Creek Welding
    Dynasty 300DX Tigrunner
    Trailblazer 302
    Spectrum 2050
    suitcase 12RC

By the way this can not fail!!!!!!! Must be very very strong! Its to keep the base of a cement wall base from moving while tilting it up.

I have been starting a Welding business and this is from a very large contruction company in washington state.

Thanks
    Gary
    Dry Creek Welding
    Dynasty 300DX Tigrunner
    Trailblazer 302
    Spectrum 2050
    suitcase 12RC

Comment

What are your previous welding experiences/skils? I'd be very afraid to learn SMAW on 1/2" plate and trust my welds to anything life-threatening without significant training, practice, or consultation from an expert weldor.

Hank
      ...from the Gadget Garage
      Millermatic 210 w/3035, BWE
      Handler 210 w/DP3035
      TA185TSW
      Victor O/A "J" series, SuperRange

Comment

Gary,
        Is this a fillet weld? Can't tell from the pics. Good looking weld though. Toes tied-in nicely. Are there some specs you have to qualify for this job? Might want to do a destructive analysis.

Weld on,
        Alex
        Be cool,
        Alex

FREEDOM ISN'T FREE
        SUPPORT OUR TROOPS

Comment