What you think of this weld?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What you think of this weld?

Ok this is 3/4" aluminum pipe sch40 just over .125 wall I think.
    So here is what is in the works me and my wife have horses and there are not a lot of nice saddle racks aviable that worth a darn. So I am in the development phase you could say.

Anyway here is one joint of the base its welded with a dynasty 300dx set about 125A balance about 60 250hz. Tell me what you all think

Gary
    Attached Files
    Dry Creek Welding
    Dynasty 300DX Tigrunner
    Trailblazer 302
    Spectrum 2050
    suitcase 12RC

I am sure that some guys here will give you some excellent feedback on this. I will not as I am still learning.

What I do notice is that the area not welded is not shiney clean. Did you clean this before you welded?

I have found that scotch brite pads followed by acetone swab down makes the welding easier and will help produce a better weld.

Just my 2 cents worth!

Happy welding!

Comment

looks clean ,looks good ,and sounds like you have solved the problem of no good saddle holders out there.
      the weld looks clean to me no discoloration.
      maby a little more heat.
      thanks for the help
      ......or..........
      hope i helped
      sigpic
      feel free to shoot me an e-mail direct i have time to chat. [email protected]
      summer is here, plant a tree. if you don't have space or time to plant one sponsor some one else to plant one for you. a tree is an investment in our planet, help it out.
      JAMES

Comment

GaryM,

Looks good. It is hard to tell everything from a picture due to lighting effects, computer screens, etc. I think you are on the cold side, as fun4now mentioned, and adding too much filler at a time. Maybe if you get it hotter, then the same amount of filler will spread out and the weld toes will wash better.