Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TIG electrode consumption

Hello:

I am new to the process of TIG welding and it is my understanding that the electrodes are non-consumable.

Mine seem to be consumed at a fairly slow rate - quicker when I make contact with the puddle

Is it normal for the electrodes to be slowly consumed? I have found that when welding Al my consumption rate is higher.

Any comments would be appreciated.

Regards,

Steve

Steved,

The tungsten electrode will be slowly consumed. It is categorized as a non consumable since it does not become part of the finished weld (we hope). Yes is will boil off faster if touched by the filler rod or weld puddle as well as too much heat for a particular size and tungsten alloy. Aluminum TIG is a hotter process for practical discussion than is steel TIG so you will have a slightly higher rate of tungsten consumption.

What machine and tungsten alloy are you using for AC and DC? I assume you are using AC for aluminum. Also how are you prepping the elctrode for use on AC and DC?

Comment

Thanks for the information.

I am using a Miller Twin Econo HF with AC for Al and DC straight polarity (electrode grounded) for mild and stainless.

I have been playing around with both Cesium and Thoriated 1/16" electrodes, I do see somewhat easier welding with the Cesium however given that it is radioactive I prefer the Thoriated.

For both types of electodes I am griding down to a fine point with a dedicated grinding wheel although I use the same wheel for all the metals that I use. I understand that a different wheel should be used for different base metals to reduce cross contamination. Since I am still in practice mode/non structural welding this is not a huge concern of mine.

I have found that grinding down the electrode to a finer point 6-7 diameter, rather than the 2-2.5 diameter as suggested gives me better results.