Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sound Of Tig Welding

Hello everyone

I have what might sound like a silly question to some of you but I don't know and I'm new to TIG welding so here goes.

I have a new tig welder and I'm trying to learn aluminum welding, it's tough. Every time I have ever seen someone tig weld, the process sounded very quiet. When I try to weld aluminum it almost sounds like mig welding, is this normal? It's not quite as loud as mig but louder than I thought it would be.

T

What kind of equipment are you using? And what are the settings?

Comment

Originally posted by Paulyfab
      What kind of equipment are you using? And what are the settings?
      It's a precision tig 185 (shhhh ... Lincoln... )

I'm practicing on some .050 5054 and experimenting with the heat settings to get it hot enough to puddle. I'm starting out at 60 amps AC.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

T

Comment

TwisterT,

Any TIG machine I have ever used makes noise on AC. The noise more closely resembles a buzzing sound. I am not familiar with one sounding like a MIG (crackling arc?) The higher the amperage the louder the buzz will be. If you increase arc frequency, the sound frequency will also increase.

What is your torch to work piece angle? Anything over a 20-25 degree angle (the back cap leaning back toward the weld beginning) is too much and may cause a popping sound as well as poor weld quality. Your tungsten should be about 1/8" or a little less off the work piece. Are you cleaning your material and filler with Scotch-Brite and wiping with acetone? Dirty aluminum won't weld. The oxide coating melts at nearly 3 times the temperature of the cleaned material.

What does the manual recommend for tungsten prep? What type tungsten are you using?

These ideas may or may not solve your problem. Specific information is needed for a better diagnosis.

Comment

Originally posted by HAWK
          TwisterT,