Some TIG Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Some TIG Questions

Hello all! I am new to your message board and have had a great time reading.

I just bought a Syncrowave 180SD and have been welding all my scrap metal up.

Ok a little about me, I am a welder for a company that makes livestock fencing and gates all galvanized 15 gage 1 5/8 and 1 7/8 tube. Nobel Panels and Gates. Every thing is supplied since the welding is so darn dirty kinda nice.

Well I want to make a Hydrolic Dump trailer and am goin to do it at home with the Sycrowave 180. I have played a lot with both the stick and Tig and my welds look 500 times better with the Tig then Stick. Is this normal??

Ok on to the questions. The trailer will be out of mild steel and range form 1/4 to 1/2. There will be Flat, Vertical and over head since it will get to heave to flip. Should be really good Pracice.
    What Rod should be used. Some one said i should us ER70S-6 or ER80S-2? What flow rate? The torch is set up for 3/32 tungsten should i use a deferent size?

Thanks and sorry for the long message

Gary McColley
    Dry Creek Welding
    Dynasty 300DX Tigrunner
    Trailblazer 302
    Spectrum 2050
    suitcase 12RC

Gary,

TIG welds will always look better than stick welds but that's not to say the stick weld isn't a good weld.

A 3/32 tungsten is way too light to weld 1/4 and 1/2 inch plate. In fact with material that heavy TIG welding wouldn't be the most efficient way to weld it. You'll be forever welding it using TIG!!

I'd go with a 7018, 7024 or a 7028 I/8" electrode on DCEN polarity to weld plate of that thickness. The 7028 in the flat position will produce a very nice looking weld but it won't run out of position. If you're going to be welding vertical uphill the 7018's are the way to go if you want to run them downhill then go with the 7024's. Also on the 1/2 plate you could always bump up to a 5/32 rod so you wouldn't have to make as many passes.