Welding Roll Bars and Tubular chasis

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Welding Roll Bars and Tubular chasis

Hey guys finally got a motorsports question for you! I am planing on building a small off road dune buggy of some type. I am not sure of all the specifics but plan to run about 9HP motor in it or maybe a small bike engine. To ask my question I will first give a little info on my situation. I work out of a small home shop with some decent power tools and have two welding machines HH135 and AC thunderbolt. Now for my question, what type of material would you recomendthis be built from and which of my welding machines should I use. I know TIG is the recomended process but seeing as I am only 16 years of age cash flow is a small problem! I have limited acess to TIG my Tech school good for small things but not this. Any input would be very very helpful as I am new to this whole motorsport thing! Thans and sorry for the long post.

Canuck:

Since you are talking low power torque bending isn't an issue I would use a mild steel tubing maybe 14ga or .063 this wouldn't be enough for a race car but it would stand up for 30-40 mph and accordingly the abuse. This weight is well within the hh135 mig range.

For the most important junctions of the cage around the end corners and the ups for the cage I would put in an extra gusset plate and since your talking a small piece of equipment you can position it to the most comfortable and highest penetration welds flat and horizontal.

I think you have the equipment to do it right but get good at the welds needed before you trust them with your life. Make a few welds on practice pieces and cut them apart look at the inside for inconsistancies and problems. Once your sure the welds are good get after it and have fun, I may preach a little but always safety first.

Keep us up on the progress

Comment