Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Generator or Engine Driven Welder/generator?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Generator or Engine Driven Welder/generator?

Hi, I'm new to the welding forum. We have a small fabrication shop in northern Colorado. We are a job shop and will build anything that comes our way but are limited by our small shop space (<1000 Ft2).

We work about 50% of the time in our shop and 50% on site using a Millermatic 211 MIG set up. Up till now we've always drug a 100' extension chord onto jobs and plugged the Millermatic into that, with varying results based on where we are plugged in. What I'm thinking about now is buying a generator or an engine-driven welder/generator. I'm trying to decide if I can save some $$ and just buy a generator (on a wheeled cart, ~5000 or greater watt) or would I be better served to buy an engine driven welder like a bobcat 225?? Obviously the bobcat will allow for additional welding like stick, but since we are partial to our Millermatic 211 MIG set up is it worth the extra cost to buy a bobcat just to use it to plug our seperate welder into?

Also am wanting to get a plasma cutter to use on site as well, something like the hypertherm 30 or 45 or the Miller equivalent - wondering if a something like a bobcat 225 can keep up with a 240V plasma cutter.

My apologies for the lengthy post - a lot of factors in the decision.

First I think you will find the consensus here is buy a Powermax. I have the 45 and love it. It needs about 6kw input running flat out so the 5k gen is not big enough. Will also need an air supply for it. A bobcat would be plenty of power for the plasma but likely could not run a compressor too. I attempted using my small Bostich nail gun compressor with the PM 45 for out of shop work but was totally inadequate.