Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New to forum need advice on pontoon welding.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to forum need advice on pontoon welding.

Ok guys I've been welding and fabricating for about 12 years now and my boss wants me to fix some leaks in his pontoon. Welding aluminum is no problem for me but I've never welded on a pontoon and when I googled it it came back with a guy blowing up? This boat doesn't have an internal gas tank and the tanks it does have are off. I know the logs are chambered but it does have drains on the back. Is it the pressure build up from the heat that cause them to go boom? I guess what I'm asking is how do I do the job safely?

Originally posted by Steel_Surgeon View Post
    Ok guys I've been welding and fabricating for about 12 years now and my boss wants me to fix some leaks in his pontoon. Welding aluminum is no problem for me but I've never welded on a pontoon and when I googled it it came back with a guy blowing up? This boat doesn't have an internal gas tank and the tanks it does have are off. I know the logs are chambered but it does have drains on the back. Is it the pressure build up from the heat that cause them to go boom? I guess what I'm asking is how do I do the job safely?
    Welcome aboard...

our resident Pontoon Wizard is "FusionKing"

he has probably repaired more of those logs than anybody out there...and has been very helpful to many

do a thread search on this forum of "pontoon" plenty of good info/threads there

next... post the manufacturer...model and age of the boat...

posting pics of the damage would not hurt either

FusionKing has a FB page you might want to look at....

https://www.facebook.com/OutBackAlum...=page_internal
    Last edited by H80N; 08-12-2015, 11:18 AM.

The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

“The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten”