Miller Bobcat 225

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Miller Bobcat 225

Hey guys it's my first time on here. I would like to know what equipment is needed to tig weld with my new bobcat welder. I've been told that I can't weld aluminum with it so would I be better off with a mig attachment or suitcase extreme? Thanks for any info you can give me.

Well, scratch start tig is fine, nothing critical though. And yes a X-Treme would be fine for Mig

Comment

Originally posted by cruizer View Post
      Well, scratch start tig is fine, nothing critical though. And yes a X-Treme would be fine for Mig
      Thanks.

Comment

Who said you can't TIG aluminum with the Bobcat?

By itself for AC no, but just add an HF-251D-1 high frequency arc starter and have at it. You won't have remote amperage control with a Bobcat which can limit your aluminum TIG options. The TIG torch will be hot all the time unless the HF-251D has the optional contactor and you use a foot or finger control to activate it.

If you want to hook it up you can use the HF-251D-1 on DC too for HF start instead of scratch but you still won't have remote amperage control or contactor.
        MM200 w/spot controller and Spoolmatic 1
        Syncrowave 180 SD
        Bobcat 225G Plus LPG/NG w/14-pin*
        *Homemade Suitcase Wire Feeder
        *HF-251D-1
        *WC-1S & Spoolmatic 1
        PakMaster 100XL
        Marquette "Star Jet" 21-110
        http://www.millerwelds.com/images/sm...rolleyes.png?2

Comment

My local air gas where I purchased my Bobcat told me that it was probably not a good idea to tig with it. But the Nex air down the road gave me the same info you have. Before I worked on the Railroad I worked in machine shops and tig welded, but have never tig welded in the field. I was pretty sure you could just didn't know what equipment would make it possible. Thanks for the info.

Comment