Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Syncrowave 200 problems. Is it me or the machine?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Syncrowave 200 problems. Is it me or the machine?

Hello and let me start by introducing myself and give a little background info since this is my first post, My name is Denis. I have gotten pretty good with my mig but this is my first attempt at tig welding. I recently picked up a Syncrowave 200 since I've been wanting to start being able to weld aluminum. I got the machine used about 2 weeks ago and was told it had very little use witch looked like it could be accurate by it's physical condition and for the price I couldn't say no. Once I got it home and downloaded the manual for it and I found out there was a timer inside so I went through the sequence and found it only had 6hrs on it witch made me very happy. I tried it on a piece of steel and it worked great but when I got a piece of aluminum to start practicing since that's really what I got it for that's where my problems began. It was very hard or impossible for me to get an ark and puddle started and hard to keep it going. I went to the troubleshooting section in the manual and it said to check the spark gap witch I did and set it to .008. That made it a little better but I still find it hard or impossible to get a puddle to start in low 50-70 amp settings, all I get is cleaning action with a lightning show on the aluminum and no puddle no matter how long I wait. I am using 1/16 green tungsten with a ball on the end and 15 cfh argon with machine set on AC tig. All I am trying to do at this point is to put down some practice beads on a flat piece of aluminum to get the technique down. If I turn up the amps to 150 or more it seems to work as I believe it should by getting a puddle started quickly witch I am able to work with to put down what look like decent welds witch leads to my questions:1. Should it be just as easy to get a puddle started at low amps as it is