wire arcing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wire arcing

i just got me a 211 and im doing some body work .im a total rookie at mig but have done a fair amount of tig and stick anyway .im running .24 wire and 120v to stitch my but welds anyway the wire keeps burning down at the tension wheel right before it goes into the sleeve thanks for any helpmark

Sounds like you spool of wire is shorting to the body of your welder. Look for a piece of wire that touches the metal of the cabinet.
    ---Meltedmetal

Comment

Probably don't have the correct drive wheel for 023, think the 211 comes with 030/035. So the wire is slipping, thus birdnesting at the drive. That or the drive is too tight, flatining out the wire, and can't make it through the tip

Comment

I'm pretty sure it wasn't the 211, but I read a post once where the screw holding the liner near the drive roll was not tight causing this problem. The other cause was as previously stated, about the end of wire on the back side of the roll touching the metal case.
        Miller Challenger 172
        Hobart AC/DC Stickmate
        Older Sears AC Stick machine

Comment

thanks it seems to birdnest when it happens i've tried alot of different tensions but ill keep trying that.and ill check that screw also.
          i will enter my results to if its better
          thanks

Comment

From the manual, page 30 -

Click image for larger version

Name:	mm211DriveRoll.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	51.8 KB
ID:	516970

Note that wire size is on the OPPOSITE side of the roll from its corresponding groove - IOW, if you can read >024 without taking it off, that's the wire it's set up for... Steve

Comment

Mark,

The weld current is supposed to transfer to the wire at the contact tip. If the wire is acring at the drive roll for some reason the weld current is trying to transfer there. There are only a few things that would cause this.

- Contact tip is loose or the incorrect size.