Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie welding gas buying question.

Newbie here,

Looking to buy my first welder. Stupid question, but I don't seem to see the answer on the interweb anywhere.

What does one need to do to get a bottle of gas? I'll be using it a home, don't have a truck to pick up a bottle. Can you "rent a bottle as you go"? do you have to sign a contract or anything, etc etc. Do they normally deliver to residential houses? It will be used for general farting around in my garage, so I don't need a new 120 tank every week or anything. Probably just start with an 80 and go from there.

There's a welder supply/Praxair not far from my house. I could go in an ask them all these questions, I just did not want to sound like 100% idiot and at least have a general understanding of how it normally works when I go in to get my first bottle.

Thanks.

Originally posted by Rockinar View Post
    Newbie here,

Looking to buy my first welder. Stupid question, but I don't seem to see the answer on the interweb anywhere.

What does one need to do to get a bottle of gas? I'll be using it a home, don't have a truck to pick up a bottle. Can you "rent a bottle as you go"? do you have to sign a contract or anything, etc etc. Do they normally deliver to residential houses? It will be used for general farting around in my garage, so I don't need a new 120 tank every week or anything. Probably just start with an 80 and go from there.

There's a welder supply/Praxair not far from my house. I could go in an ask them all these questions, I just did not want to sound like 100% idiot and at least have a general understanding of how it normally works when I go in to get my first bottle.

Thanks.
    Yes you can rent a bottle... that is generally done one year at a time...

they come in several sizes depending on your needs.. and are designated by their cubic foot capacity and physical size..

here is a chart