Experience gaining

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Experience gaining

Hi, I've just gotten into welding about a year ago thru a technical college WATC and so far i like it, never thought id even try welding. But i graduated highschool and just finished my second semester of welding. I passed my 2G MIG test just waiting on geting my card. i also have about a semester experience of TIG and stick welding, but i am trying to look for a welding job and well....not going any good, most of the jobs around Wichita, KS are looking for welders with 5+ years in mig,tig, stick etc. so where should i look as a entry level welder? i havent used a lot of power tools but i know how to use a grinder, sander, power drill, small stuff like that but not like a sheer or bigger stuff like that. Just seems hard to get experience in the welding field. If anybody could help me out and maybe give me some tips or maybe share how they got there first job or whatever. P.S. cant ask family members for friends to help me cause they dont know any.

I was lucky when I got into it. I've seen posts and heard of guys carrying samples of their work into fab/machine shops. Anything from tigged razor bladeds and soda cans to a small padded up cube. Leave the sample on the counter with a resume or application. Just be 100% sure you can back you sample up with their machine and equipment because the foreman may just very well call you up and give you a test.
    Dynasty 400 wireless
    Coolmate 3.5
    Sw320 speedway
    Ck flex lock 230
    4 victor flow meters
    2 Flametech Duel flowmeters
    2 genuine miller torch buttons
    A$$ loads of tungsten
    XMT 350 CC/CV
    S74DX feeder
    Stick leads from here to China
    A30 Spool gun
    WC24
    Langmuir crossfire hobby table
    Everlast powerplasma 100 w hypertherm torch
    Harris O/A
    Pet raccoon
    I'm just a peckerwood in the boonies with fancy welding equipment

Comment