No argon getting to electrode handle

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No argon getting to electrode handle

First I am sorry if this is a stupid question but have viewed the threads and was not able to find an answer.

I am completely new to TIG welding and just bought a Max Star 150 STL gently used by someone who got it to take classes.

I have hooked up everything and double checked for leaks. I have brand new full gas bottle. I have disconnected the lines and turned on gas but I am getting "0" gas through machine. I let the gauges sit for 20 minutes with machine on and the pressure did not drop at all. As a matter of fact it did not zero until I disconnected hose from back of machine. I looked in the positive port hook up and there is a torque head bolt at the back. Is it possible that you have to remove this if you want to use gas shielding? I do know that the person I bought it from never had gas on it.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ken

Originally posted by SoapyKen View Post
    First I am sorry if this is a stupid question but have viewed the threads and was not able to find an answer.

I am completely new to TIG welding and just bought a Max Star 150 STL gently used by someone who got it to take classes.

I have hooked up everything and double checked for leaks. I have brand new full gas bottle. I have disconnected the lines and turned on gas but I am getting "0" gas through machine. I let the gauges sit for 20 minutes with machine on and the pressure did not drop at all. As a matter of fact it did not zero until I disconnected hose from back of machine. I looked in the positive port hook up and there is a torque head bolt at the back. Is it possible that you have to remove this if you want to use gas shielding? I do know that the person I bought it from never had gas on it.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ken
    What are the machine settings?? remote??

do you have a pedal installed..??