miller 180 SD syncrowave ac tig problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• miller 180 SD syncrowave ac tig problems

Hello name is Duke, I am an experienced welder, but new to tig welding. I am trying to practice on aluminum. I'm running 100% argon 20 cfm. 2% thoriated tungston and pure. I can start an arc on DC, but I'm having such a hard time lift starting on ac. I'm using a foot pedal and welder is set to 100 amps. Once it starts I usually can keep it going for a bit, but nothing like DC. Am I doing something wrong?

My 180 does doesnt have Lift Start, didn't think any of them did. I think you may be calling it the wrong thing.
    If you are just having trouble with starts, download the manual, and check the point gap.

Comment

High Frequency

Originally posted by dukie1877 View Post
      Hello name is Duke, I am an experienced welder, but new to tig welding. I am trying to practice on aluminum. I'm running 100% argon 20 cfm. 2% thoriated tungston and pure. I can start an arc on DC, but I'm having such a hard time lift starting on ac. I'm using a foot pedal and welder is set to 100 amps. Once it starts I usually can keep it going for a bit, but nothing like DC. Am I doing something wrong?
      Sounds like your high frequency is not working right. I used to have a 180. Download the manual and adjust the points. You should be able to start an arc without touching the tungsten to the work, really you should not need to get that close. The Syncrowave does not have lift arc as a feature. When the panel switch is switched to TIG, the HF should come on as soon as you start to depress the pedal, like the gas does; this is true AC or DC.

High frequency is a convenience on DC, but a necessity on AC.

Disclaimer: I don't claim to be a welding expert, I replied because I used to have a 180 Syncrowave.
      Syncrowave 200, Millermatic 211, Victor torch, Propane forge....

Comment