Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New here, plenty of questions...

Hello All...

Interesting forum, seems to be a wide variety of experience here.

First off, I want (need!) to weld, never have before.

I am a long time bicycle mechanic, and a drummer. I want to produce some custom drum hardware systems, percussion items, etc - and eventually weld bicycle frames and repair stands, shop gear, furniture, etc.

I have looked into the local community college, they have an AWS certification program, and have classe for every welding method, but the Spring 2004 semester filled up the morning of the first day of enrollment.

Everyone I talk to says to wait till I can take classes, (6 months from now) then later purchase some equipment. Some are saying I will be way too frustrated trying to learn myself, but I think I do really well with self taught skills.

Which leads to the first question, how many weldors here are primarily self taught? Is it possible to safely gain some profiency with no formal training? The local classes are VERY popular, and difficult to get into any if not all of them.

I live in a converted shop/warehouse, so I have the space and the power for a single phase welder up to about 80 amps 230v primary. I have experience with electrical matters, I did quite a bit of generator and power distro work as a stage hand, so I already have a healthy respect and understanding of electrical power.

Any/all suggestions on a good starting point and possible equipment choices would be greatly appreciated.

So far, a small O/A torch setup and possibly a Maxstar 150 STL seem like a good starting point. Aluminum is something I'd eventually want to weld, but not at first. Mostly mild and maybe 4130 steel for starters.

Sorry if this was long winded -

Thank in advance!