Looking for advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for advice

Hello, I am new to the welding arena, but have been looking to purchase a mig welder. To start off, I have little to no experience with welding. I have a 100 amp Arc welder in my garage that I played with very little, ok VERY little, maybe 3 times many years ago. I have been told mig is the easiest welding to learn? I will be teaching myself the technique; although I work in a stainless steel manufacturing plant and have a few good friends that know mig/tig welding and can get some help in my training. I have been looking at welders for the past few weeks and today I ran across these forums. As I look and read the price keeps going up. From what I am reading it sounds like the Millermatic 175 and the 210 are a good choice. My long term intentions are to be able to weld on motorcycle frames and aluminum pieces. I guess I am just looking for a little input on what I should buy for a welder. From what I've seen online the price between the 175 and the 210 is about $500 difference. Considering what I know about welding, should I make the jump to the 210 or start out with the 175 to get to know a little more? Any advice would be appretiated. Thanks in advance.

Jim

ADVICE