Price structure

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Price structure

This could be the wrong place to ask this question but I don.t know really where else to go either. Just recently (yesterday and day before ) , I was asked by my neighbor if I would weld some 3/8" cold roll round tubing (the tubes are intertwined or woven togeather to make a grid) onto his Bulldozer over the windows. The purpose is to keep limbs and such from coming threw and hitting him while doing some major clearing on his property. I spent the first day cutting and fittng the metal over the front ,back, and side window openings. On the second day I welded anywhere from four to six bolts per window opening. There were a total of six window openings.. I have a MILLER mig (millermatic 135)and I used a flux core wire for the project (since I was out of gas) and it seemed to hold very well. I was somewhat impressed by the machine actually.
    Anyway here is my question. I am not a welder by profession but I do weld in my profession ocassionally. What I need to know is a price structure for someone doing oxy/acetalene cutting and welding (mig) per hour or day etc..... Is this possible or am I in the wrong place. Thank-you for your time
    Richie

Richie,

Determining the wage rate for a welder includes quite a few variables. Experience (process capabilties and time), certifications, affiliations (union), location, etc.

However, I think you are looking for just some hourly rates for a typical shop welder with basic skills. Since you are located in Mississippi, I would estimate a reasonable rate would be in the $12-17/hr range. And that does not include consumables (weld wire, gas, etc.) or equipment useage (using your welding machine). If you want to include consumables and machine use you should be able to get another $5-10/hr. Happy welding!
    Kevin Disney

Comment

I would be concerned about the ability for a mm135 to weld that thick of material. Just a thought.

Comment