need advice soon!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need advice soon!

I'm starting a business building off-road cars. Frames are made of 4130 C-moly w/ tubing sizes between 3/4" & 1-3/4" & Wall thicknesses are between .065 & .120. Other parts can reach the 3/8"to 1/2" range.

I'm going to sub-out the welding but will supply the welder. I've been borrowing a Miller 185 but that is going away. Just a note... I will weld some of the parts but when asthetics count it will be subbed out.

The competition have excellent welders using ???welding machines??? that seem to produce consistant, low heat, welds. Rumors vary on machines & technique. I am not an expert and don't have time to learn all the specifics of welding. Personally, I can weld pieces together so they don't come apart but it isn't the quality I can sub out.
    I need a machine that a competent welder can produce excellent welds on a production basis. The gun must be small enough to get into high angle tube connections. Cable length? 12'-15'? Is 15' too long?
    Note: I've been using .030 wire to this point.
    There are more welding considerations like alum & SS,but these are secondary because there is a TIG in the shop and I tend to not believe in one machine does it all with a high level of performance. But it would be nice.
    This is getting lengthy... If you can suggest, what machine will produce high strength welds, with the lowest heat transfer into the parts, and with a production rating? And if it doesn't compromise for the most part the above considerations, could it have other applications such as SS & Alum.

I'm looking at three groups:
    1) base machine to get the job done ($2500 or less)
    2) and a step up, $5000 or less
    3) my wish list - no limit