Copper plated filler rod for TIG

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Copper plated filler rod for TIG

A welding book I was reading last night (I'm fairly new to TIG, being a grizzled old gas welder) and the author was quite firm about NEVER using copper plated filler rod unless the project was something on the order of fixing old lawn furniture. He mentioned the problems of the copper finding its way into the weld structure and forming grain boundaries that can lead to cracking. He also mentioned the danger of inhaling copper fumes.
    My LWS sells lots of copper plated filler rod and I see a lot of it for sale at various welding supply places on the web. When I bought some rod the other day to use for practice, the stuff was all copper plated. I didn't ask for un-plated rod.
    What's the true story about filler rod for TIG? The place I was working part-time and where I learned the basics of TIG had only copper plated rod to use.

Here's one opinion:

http://goarticles.com/article/Copper...iller/6416212/
    Miller stuff:
    Dialarc 250 (1974)
    Syncrowave 250 (1992)
    Spot welder (Dayton badged)

Comment

Been doing this a long time and never had a problem with copper poisoning or weld degradation.

The copper has an added benefit of keeping the wire from rusting.
      Nothing welded, Nothing gained

Miller Dynasty700DX
      3 ea. Miller Dynasty350DX
      Miller Dynasty200DX
      ThermalArc 400 GTSW
      MillerMatic350P
      MillerMatic200 with spoolgun
      MKCobraMig260
      Lincoln SP-170T
      Linde UCC305 (sold 2011)
      Hypertherm 1250
      Hypertherm 800
      PlasmaCam CNC cutter
      Fadal Toolroom CNC Mill
      SiberHegner CNC Mill
      2 ea. Bridgeport
      LeBlond 15" Lathe
      Haberle 18" Cold Saw
      Doringer 14" Cold Saw
      6 foot x 12 foot Mojave granite

Comment

I always wear a respirator whenever I strike an arc, regardless of which process I'm welding with.