MM211 and Wire Size

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MM211 and Wire Size

Hey guys. I'm very new to welding, only have probably 2 days of experience. I have a MM211 on 75/25 gas running .035 wire (schedule-40 project metal). I've ran more beads than I can count which seems to be a good way to start. Analyze the beads, make sure there is proper penetration, ect..

When I weld I get a solid, shiny, hump type weld even when I weld with that cursive 'e'. Because of this I tend to weld like MIG (not trying to look like TIG). Sometimes however I want to try to play with getting fancy. So this weekend I go over to a friends house who's running a Lincoln 180 with 100% CO2 and .025 wire (schedule-40 project metal again), here are the results after my first try at a cursive 'e' on his machine:

Does .025 wire cool faster allowing the bead trail to be able to mold initially then when the 'e' comes back over it remelts and forms the pretty look? I was blown away that I was able to do this. I have probably 10 welds back to back 6" or longer and all penetrating! I'm now thinking I want to switch to smaller wire for metals that are schedule-40!

Edit: Thinking about this more and more. I think just playing with different metal sizes, wire size/type, makes a difference. I don't have very many options to play with and see what I like. I would definitely choose his setup if I wanted a less penetrating but fancier look over my bead with the MM211. I know for a fact the 211 is an amazing machine and is capable of making the same if not better welds. I just liked what his did in this particular case.
    Last edited by wgr73; 09-24-2012, 08:44 AM.

We have found the 211's to like .030 a lot better. Just our experience
    252 Miller Mig
    180 Synchrowave
    R - 45 Milling Machine
    Kingston 1100 Lathe
    Miller 2050 Plasma Cutter

Comment

I'll be picking some of that up real soon.

Comment

It should have...

It should have come with a spool of that.