MIG welding aluminum troubles

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MIG welding aluminum troubles

Hello yall, Im trying to mig weld aluminum with my 211 and Spoolmate 100. Its my first time doing so and I am having issues. Im using .030 aluminum alloy wire and 100% argon. The flow gauge being used is the Smith unit that came with the 211, with a gas CFM rate of approx 25. The wire feed tension is set up properly and correct .030 tips are being used. I was running some test beads on 1/8" flat aluminum plate. The problem I am having, and this has happened 3 times now when Im welding, the .030 wire feed tip is melting. Im wondering if I might not be using the right stick out length. But Im not really sure. If anyone can give my any tips I would appreciate it. Thanks.
    Lone MIG Slinger!

More stick out and push the weld
    Turn it up and get moving
    Ed Conley
    http://www.screamingbroccoli.net/
    MM252
    MM211
    Passport Plus w/Spool Gun
    TA185
    Miller 125c Plasma 120v
    O/A set
    SO 2020 Bender
    You can call me Bacchus

Comment

Don't you mean cfh?
      Nick
      Miller 252 Mig
      Miller Cricket XL
      Millermatic 150 Mig
      Miller Syncrowave 200 Tig
      2-O/A outfits
      Jet Lathe and Mill
      Jet 7x12 horz/vert band saw
      DeWalt Multi Cutter metal saw
      Century 50 Amp Plasma Cutter
      20 ton electric/hydraulic vertical press
      Propane Forge
      60" X 60" router/plasma table

www.youtube.com/watch?v=jTu7wicVCmQ
      Vist my site: www.nixstuff.com
      and check out some of my ironwork and other stuff

Comment

You said it, TIPS thats the problem. As always i have a different answer to your tip melting and a way to correct it ...Bob
        Bob Wright

Comment

Boomer that happens to me when my wire speed is too slow. I have mm210 w/ spoolgun and when it starts burning my tip it is usualy my wire feed is too slow. Try bumping it up alittle hope that works for you.

Comment