Feedback Request on Welding Technique and Settings

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Feedback Request on Welding Technique and Settings

I am a building contractor and have been welding off and on for years but recently got a certifaction for up to 3/4" steel in all positions in order to do some structural welding on one of my building projects. I think I am doing ok but want feedback to optimize my technique since these welds will be inspected, possibly with x-ray or ultra sound and want to do what it takes to get it right the first time around.

I am using a Miller XMT 350 CV/CV with 60 series wire feeder. This weld is prequalified (AWS specification A5.20) wire: Excel Arc 71 @ .045", gas: Ar 75%/ CO2 25% @ 14-24 LPM, Base metal A36 grade B steel, my machine settings are 23V, 215 IPM wire speed and the amp reading on the machine is about 170. This weld has a root opening of 3/8" with 30 degree groove angle and am welding in 7 passes, wire brushing between each. My contact tip to work distance is 5/8" and travel speed is about 8-12 IPM

I tried 24V in practice but was getting too much undercut so went to 23 V which is at the bottom of the wire manufacturer's setting range. I had some problems with wagon tracks too in practice but that was corrected with better control on work distance and angle. I got some slag inclusion on the edges in practice with my weave patterns not being even enough but think this is under control by keeping the bead full and pausing long enough at the edges. Any tips or feedback will be appreciated. Attached are some pictures of one of my welds w/ prep, about 1/2 way through and finished product. Thanks
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Csparks; 02-12-2012, 11:33 AM.
    Chris Crawford, Space Options, Molokai Hawaii

weld's look nice. are nice & clean ,no undercut, no visible porosity. good job! i would have used 3-4 passes for the cap instead of making the beads so wide though...