New to Aluminum.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Aluminum.

I'm using a Miller 211, .30 wire, wire speed 90, voltage at 10, argon is around 35-40. I understand from other threads I need to be lower on the gas. And I've burnt through 4 tips. I assume the gun shroud us too close the aluminum.

Of course because I'm a rookie the welds are porous, black and very inconsistent. This is best I can get so far. I've tried to clean material but having never done it before I don't know how thorough to be with the stainless brush/acetone. Sure could use some coaching.
    Attached Files

I think this link will get you going in the right direction.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V_MiG...feature=relmfu
    Last edited by Dipsomaniac; 01-25-2012, 09:13 PM. Reason: Wrong link.

Comment

Need way more info.

Like what alloy wire. What orifice diameter. What thickness plate. What stickout. What alloy plate.

20 to 25 CFH argon is more in the range for gas. Better too little than too much. Gas costs money.
      Nothing welded, Nothing gained

Miller Dynasty700DX
      3 ea. Miller Dynasty350DX
      Miller Dynasty200DX
      ThermalArc 400 GTSW
      MillerMatic350P
      MillerMatic200 with spoolgun
      MKCobraMig260
      Lincoln SP-170T
      Linde UCC305 (sold 2011)
      Hypertherm 1250
      Hypertherm 800
      PlasmaCam CNC cutter
      Fadal Toolroom CNC Mill
      SiberHegner CNC Mill
      2 ea. Bridgeport
      LeBlond 15" Lathe
      Haberle 18" Cold Saw
      Doringer 14" Cold Saw
      6 foot x 12 foot Mojave granite

Comment

You DO have a spoolgun don't you? If so which one? If you are just running it thru the MIG gun, that could cause a lot of your problems with the tips burning back.

Comment

No. I knew enough to buy a spool gun. MILLER 100 SERIES. Since posting I have begun to wonder about my argon cfh. Also, is it necessary to open the tank valve fully or is half open sufficient.

Comment