MIG welding pipe

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MIG welding pipe

I'm a pipe welder with 23 yrs experience with TIG and Stick. My boss has a job coming up which involves welding 26" heavy wall pipe. We're talking something like 2" wall thickness. And has to be 100% x-ray. Normally we would TIG the root pass and then Stick weld the rest. A lot of welding! We are considering using the Pipe Worx 400 machine on this project to speed things up. I have run MIG quite a bit but never on pipe. Any suggestions on using this machine for that type of job. Should we use pure CO2 for gas or a mix? We can't have any lack of fusion anywhere in the joint. Thanks.

Where i work we make pressure vessels and they are 1" - 1 1/2" thick. We use solid .035 mig wire w/C02 for the root and .045 gas flux core with C02 for the next 15-25 passes. They are all 100% x rayed joints...Bob
    Bob Wright

Comment

What would happen if we ran solid Mig wire all the way out instead of flux core? What does the flux core do for the weld?
      We are trying to eliminate chipping and wire wheeling of slag during the process. However, we can't sacrifice proper fusion and penetration either. Also, I believe this is going to be a "hot weld", requiring a constant pre-heat of 400 to 500 F. And welded in position. No rolling of pipe.

Comment

Flux core with gas cleans up easily. You can run hot and fast.

Comment

Thank you for the replies. Sounds like flux core is the way to go.

Comment

[QUOTE=Welder Dean;277716]What would happen if we ran solid Mig wire all the way out instead of flux core? What does the flux core do for the weld?
            We are trying to eliminate chipping and wire wheeling of slag during the process. QUOTE]

The people I know who fab pipe in a shop, and have used both, weld out with flux core for two reasons.
            One is fewer repairs due to LO sidewall fusion and cold lap.
            Two is they can carry more iron at higher heat out of position.