Looking to buy a new welding hood

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking to buy a new welding hood

I was wondering if anyone could give me some advise on buying a auto darkening hood. I've been looking at the Miller digital elite but I've seen on here that people have had a lot of problems. I'm new at welding I've only been doing it for 4 1/2 months But i wanna get a good welding hood that will last awhile. If anybody could help me out i would really appreciate it.

Digital Elite Hood

While we respect all opinions, we think the Digital Elite Hood is pretty well received. Here's one person's account...

http://www.millerwelds.com/resources...hlight=skeptic

Comment

3m

3M makes a hood called speedglass they come with all types of options, i.e. darkness setting, grind feature, and vents at your mouth that allows fresh air in, they are not as flashy as a miller elites but for functionality, and durability its the way to go they are about as expensive as an elite but you will have far less problems out of them. miller makes the best welders, hoods not so much

Comment

Originally posted by TheBamBam27 View Post
        miller makes the best welders, hoods not so much
        I don't agree with that at all. I have been using my Miller Pro Hobby for a few years now with zero problems. I weld .045 fluxcore at least 8 1/2 hours a day 6 days a week with it...Bob
        Bob Wright

Comment

I have come to the conclusion that they all can become junk quite easily.
          You just have to learn to treat them somewhat like a pair of eyeglasses.
          I mean, they don't much like getting wet, or extremely hot or cold either. They hate to sit around as well.
          I've even stepped in the middle of a few
          I think a mid price model is the best place for a newbie to start. That way you can get a handle on which way you wish to go later. They all make good ones. You just need to figure out what turns you on and is a good value.