MIG welding stainless struggles

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MIG welding stainless struggles

I am struggling with welding stainless. I have very little experience in this area. I can't seem to control the puddle very well. I am welding with a millermatic 300. 3-phase machine with a 30A spoolgun. Welding 1/8" stainless with 308L wire, and straight argon @ 30cfm. I don't know what alloy it is, but I know it is weldable. It is a rear door frame on a straight body truck. These are welded from the factory. Machine is around 24v, and spoolgun wire feed at 4-5 on dial. I tried to turn wire speed up and down but can't gain control of puddle. It seems as though the weld is cutting in enough, but looks like it is too cold after I run the bead. I am getting alot of material falling down(dripping) as I weld.This is very humbling. I can mig weld aluminum and steel just fine, but this is a challenge. I also would like to know if 309L is best for welding steel to stainless. This is even harder for me to weld/control than 308L.
    Thanks for all the help.
    Miller 330 A/BP Tig
    Millermatic 250
    Spoolmatic 30A
    Hobart 175 mig
    Miller Regency 250 w/ wire feeder
    Bridgeport vertical mill
    Delta bandsaw
    Rockwell lathe

You need to use Tri-mix. It'll make all the difference in the world.
    AutoArc 230 (MM 210)
    3035 spoolgun
    Spectrum 625
    Dialarc HF w/Coolmate 4

Comment

Second the tri-mix for short arc SS.

Straight argon is the wrong gas.
      Syncrowave 250 DX Tigrunner
      Dynasty 200 DX
      Miller XMT 304 w/714D Feeder & Optima Control
      Miller MM 251 w/Q300 & 30A SG
      Hobart HH187
      Dialarc 250 AC/DC
      Hypertherm PM 600 & 1250
      Wilton 7"x12" bandsaw
      PC Dry Cut Saw, Dewalt Chop Saw
      Milwaukee 8" Metal Cut Saw, Milwaukee Portaband.
      Thermco and Smith (2) Gas Mixers
      More grinders than hands

Comment