Abrasive vs cold cut saw

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Abrasive vs cold cut saw

I am looking at getting a cut-off type saw for some light fab work. It will mostly be cutting 1-2" tubing, square and round, along with some angle, strapping, etc.

My question is, is a dry cut worth the extra cost of blades? I have never used one before on steel. I used to work at an aluminum fishing boat plant and cut a lot of aluminum with them, but never steel. I read a lot of people complaining about them getting dull fast. Not sure if that is maybe due to blade quality, user issues, or normal?

Any input is appreciated!
    "When life gets tough and it looks like the gators are going to get you, step back, take a deep breath, and start killing them one at a time, usually the closest one first."
    -- PAUL HOWE --

I've got an Evolution Raptor dry cut saw........had it for over 2 years now ....still on the original blade that came with it...........and I've had a ton of material through it from 4x4 1/4 wall on down without any noticeable dropoff in the blades cutting ability.. Jim
    Welding in Crete
    Syncrowave 350 LX
    Millermatic 252
    Millermatic 180 w Spoolgun
    Miller Gold Seal 155
    Miller Elite welding helmet
    JD2 Tubing bender with Hydraulic conversion
    Evolution Raptor15" SteelDry Cut Saw
    Hypertherm Powermax 30
    Some really cool hammers BIG and small

Comment

Abrasive throws nasty crap in every direction.
      Also the blade flexs and makes less accurate cuts.
      Save for the Blade version or get a bandsaw.

www.facebook.com/outbackaluminumwelding
      Miller Dynasty 700...OH YEA BABY!!
      MM 350P...PULSE SPRAYIN' MONSTER
      Miller Dynasty 280 with AC independent expansion card
      Miller Dynasty 200 DX "Blue Lightning"

Miller Bobcat 225 NT (what I began my present Biz with!)
      Miller 30-A Spoolgun
      Miller WC-115-A
      Miller Spectrum 300