business talk

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• business talk

hi fellow welders hope all is well.I would like to say ive done a search on this topic and got some good info on it . what im looking for is just some critic on a job i done today. ive been welding for 10 years now for a dredge comp,a few pipe companys. and some nuclear shutdowns.ive done some side welding for people while i was working fulltime and it got to hard working 60hr weeks and then trying to do welding on the side so i quit welding at home and started traveling again.today i did a job for a customer ive done quite abit for him in the past.this was the first job ive done for him since since ive started back. this is how i priced the job we agreed on a set price for the work i did on the bushhog then he said he wanted a plate on front of the cage and he said do that two. i said sure.so i did the set job first then i started the clock on the plate job i had to put on a 10in by 30in by 1/4 plate 12in of 2x2x1/8 angle. ihad to grind paint and rust just to start so i log 3hr at 40hr the shops around here are 65 hr.i billed him 120 for labor and charged him 50 cent an inch for welding material and 20 bucks for the plate and angel. there was 130 in of weld metal.the material price was 85.the total bill was 255. the 50cent an inch was to cover mig wire/gas/grinderblades/etc.im not asking for you guys to tell me how yall price ur jobs just tell me if im heading in the right direction and if that sounds honest and fair and a few pointers. im trying to start this bussiness the right way .my wife is out of school now and makes good money and she dont want me on the road she said focus on the bussiness ill take care of the bills . so i moved into my dads shop 40x60 14ft door he passed away last march and the shop is paid for. theres 50000 or more in tools there he ran his own yacht restoation bussines for 20 years and being in his shop im at peace working with the same tools he did and i k