No announcement yet.

build or buy comparasion ( truck rack )

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• build or buy comparasion ( truck rack )

Hi looking to get some info for a friend of mine who wants me to build a rack for his truck so he can load his garage doors on top of his truck. I plan to weld it to help him save money but i had a few extra questions. this rack is for a standard cab short bed '07 silverado and its going to have a 3 foot landing over the cab. Its gonna be steel because I dont have a machine capable of aluminum even though i am a certified aluminum tig welder.

1. How much metal would I need to complete the job

2. what would be the easiest form to use round or square

3. what is a good size tubing to use

4. Tig or Mig

How much steel? Get a tape measure, sketch pad and make measurements. Add 10%.

Square tube so you can miter instead of notch, faster fitting and welding. 1-1/2" should work, 12-14 gauge although with side rails of 1" tube, 16 gauge would be plenty stiff. GMAW with thin wire (23-30 thousandths) using 75/25 Ar/CO2.

Make it bolt together in pieces, a full rack is heavy. Another thing is choice of material so bolt joints are telescope lapped (1-1/4" square inside 1-1/2" 12 gauge square).

Comment

Originally posted by Keith_J View Post
      How much steel? Get a tape measure, sketch pad and make measurements. Add 10%.

Square tube so you can miter instead of notch, faster fitting and welding. 1-1/2" should work, 12-14 gauge although with side rails of 1" tube, 16 gauge would be plenty stiff. GMAW with thin wire (23-30 thousandths) using 75/25 Ar/CO2.

Make it bolt together in pieces, a full rack is heavy. Another thing is choice of material so bolt joints are telescope lapped (1-1/4" square inside 1-1/2" 12 gauge square).