Nuclear welder in Norfolk VA

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nuclear welder in Norfolk VA

I am a welder with 20 years behind me and just had my physical today for a civilian welder in Norfolf Naval Shipyard. I learned that I have to train to be a nuclear welder once I start work in Sept. What is involved with that process? What type of classes are they going to give me and things of that sort. Also am I more likely to travel with Nuclear Certs? Thanks.

Nuclear

Are you sure you want to weld nuclear

You will probably have to go in where it`s HOT. And when I mean HOT as in radiation.

The codes are similar to high end ASME pipe welding (I think you could buy them from ASME).
    Bobcat 225
    The rest is bright RED "Tig & GMAW"
    Just got a new Hypertherm 30

Comment

A few years ago the company i worked for was trying to get into welding nuclear tanks. There is alot involved. I imagine your going to learn about the procedures and the paper work. Procedures have to be followed to a t, and also the paper work must be filled out accuratly. Such as material temp while welding, heat numbers from your wire along with witness's to verify temps and such. There is alot involved. Like said much like asme pipe code. This is just what i learned from working in company trying to get into it. But best of luck it certainly is high end work
      Linclon power mig 350MP

Comment

They (the USN) will teach you "The Navy Way".... a way which has had zero nuclear incidents since the USS Nautilus was launched...
        Bobcat 225NT
        Cutmaster 52
        Lincoln Weld-Pak 100 buzz box
        Caterpillar TH63
        '07 Kawasaki ZZR600

Comment