Millermatic 185 questions…

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Millermatic 185 questions…

I am new to mig welding and just picked up a used MM185. The welder is in really good shape, it’s just a little dusty from sitting around. The previous owner said he only had around 4 hours of total welding time on the machine. When I looked up the serial number it was manufactured in 2000. I have $500 in the welder and bottle after I sold off the spoolmate 185 that came with it. I think I got a good deal. I was going to get a MM212 but I could not pass up the deal on the mm185. From the research I did it looks like the MM185 is a solid machine and should be perfect for me to learn on.
    Now the questions…

What size and kind of wire should I use? I plan on welding up to 3/8 but most of the time I will be welding 3/16 to 1/4. I think the M-15 gun is setup to accept .030 or .035 wire.

What size and lb spool should I buy? From the research I did the MM185 has the weaker drive system and does not react well to the heaver spool of wire.

You got a good deal. I have over $2,000.00 in mine with a spoolgun and a couple of bottles. .030 solid wire is perfect for that machine. I run the 10 lb spools just so i don't wear it out but i have run bigger just fine...Bob
    Bob Wright

Comment

The Millermatic Calculator (at Resources above) says .035 will go from 20 ga. to 3/8".
      The MMC says that .030 will go from 22 ga. to 14 ga. @ 340 ipm, your MM185 goes to 795 ipm, so there is no reason the MM 185 could not do 5/16" with .030", and maybe more.
      At 3/8" the MM 185 is max out in amps.
      If you are worried about the weight of the wire get the 8'' rolls.
      Good Luck,
      Bob
      Millermatic 252 w/30A
      Big Blue Air Pak
      Ellis 3000 Band Saw
      Trailblazer 302 Air Pak w/ Wireless Remote
      8-RC
      Dynasty 200 DX
      XMT 350 MPa w/S-74 MPa Plus
      Millermatic 211
      Passport Plus
      Spectrum 625 X-TREME