Pulsed TIG tips or "tricks"? Anyone?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pulsed TIG tips or "tricks"? Anyone?

I have never tried pulsed TIG before and I suppose it is time to try it. I am going to practice on some 18 ga plain steel 1 5/8" exhaust tubing and am going to do some reading on the technique/setup/etc, but was wondering if anyone in this group had any tips or "tricks" to make it better or easier and maybe shorten the learning curve. Any input would be appreciated! Thanks.
    Don J
    Reno, NV

Never pick a fight with an old guy. Old guys are too smart to fight and get hurt. They'll just kill you and get it over with.

Pulse

What machine?

The higher the pulsing, the better the overall control to an extent. For example, I like 385 pps with my dynasty, for SS 1/16 wall pipe vs 60 pps with the maxstar. But I have to do with what I can, with what I have. Also depends on joint position.

The key is pulsing is a heat assistant, you have to learn to crawl before you can walk.

Comment

A couple of different ways to use it that I found convenient, though I don't use pulse too often. First, for regulating the average power input by playing with the high-side on time versus the frequency, and I found it handy when building thin edges using a relatively low frequency (< 2 hz) and finding the right duty cycle to keep the edge from disappearing. This especially helps if you have a machine that doesn't go low in current. My present welder goes down to 5 amps, so I don't use pulse as often as with my last machine. Just some ideas.

Comment

Pulsed TIG

I suggest that you start with the following, given that you are welding thinner material.

1 pulse per second (I usually use 1.2 pulses per second)
        50% time high, 50% time low
        Low current 50% of high current.